Seven named to ACCAC Hall of Fame class of 2020

Seven named to ACCAC Hall of Fame class of 2020

  The ACCAC has selected seven new members to its Hall of Fame for the class of 2020. This will be the sixth class inducted, totaling 47 members.

  Dr. Jim Brock – Mesa – Coach/Administrator – The father of Mesa baseball, he began the program in 1966 and compiled a record of 163-80-2, winning two NJCAA national championships before moving to Arizona State University in 1972. There he compiled a record of 1,100-441, winning two College World Series championships. He was selected as national Coach of the Year in 1977. During his time at ASU he won 11 conference championships and guided his teams to the College World Series 11 times. Along with the Mesa Hall of Fame he is a member of the ASU Hall of Fame as well as the American Baseball Coaches Hall of Fame. Was also President of the MCC Faculty Senate.

 Thomas "Shanty" Hogan – PhoenixAdministrator/Coach – Served at PC from 1959-84 as Head Football and Golf Coach, as well as Athletic Director, a position he held from 1969-84. As football coach he had a record of 118-39-5, taking his teams to five bowl games, winning the NJCAA national championship in 1964. Selected to the Arizona Sports Hall of Fame in 1985. PC Head Coach of the Year in 1959 and 1964.

  George "Dutch" Hoy – Phoenix – Coach – Worked at PC from 1929-1967 coaching a variety of teams including football, baseball, track & field, basketball, boxing, swimming, wrestling, tennis and golf.  Won national championships in football, baseball and track & field. Was cited by the NJCAA in for Outstanding Work in the Field of Junior College Athletics in 1961. Won several ACCAC, regional and national Coach of the Year awards.

  Dr. Kaye McDonald – Mesa – Administrator/Coach – One of the top people in promoting the growth of women's sports, both at Mesa and nationwide. Among other things, she served on the National Basketball Rules Committee when the change was made to a five-player game. Also served with the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW) the governing body for women's college athletics prior to the NJCAA and NCAA. Was Dean of Student Servicers and Director of Development at MCC and coached basketball and tennis. She was also women's Athletic Director. A member of the MCC Athletic Hall of Fame.

  Al Shirley – Central Arizona – Coach – Led the track & field program at CAC from 2004-13. Was named NJCAA National Coach of the Year in 2007 and Region I Coach of the Year five times. His teams won eight ACCAC championships and nine Region I titles to go along with three consecutive NJCAA National Championships from 2005-07. CAC was also national runners-up in 2004. Inducted into the National Track & Field/Cross Country Coaches Hall of Fame in 2016.

  Jerry Smith – Arizona Western – Administrator – He has served as Athletic Director for 15 years at AZW, a position he currently holds. In the ACCAC he has been President, Director of Officials, chair of the Basketball Committee, a member of the Volleyball Committee, Executive Committee and was President of the Western States Football League (WSFL). He has been Director of Region I for 12 years. Nationally he has been a member of the Board of Regents, chair of Championship Events, a member of the Volleyball and Softball Committees and previously a member of the Golf, Soccer and Tennis Committees. The NJCAA presented him with the Mary Leicht Service Award.

  John Stratton – Arizona Western – Coach – Spent 27 years as AZW baseball coach, compiling a record of 817-640. His teams made 11 ACCAC playoff appearances and won league titles in 1986, 1995, 1996 and 1999. His 1996 squad placed third at the NJCAA National Championship Tournament.

Link to ACCAC Hall of Fame